Jef Van Gerwen sj Chair

In 2006, the Jef Van Gerwen sj Chair was awarded for the first time. This Chair was established in commemoration of Jef Van Gerwen, a Jesuit from Antwerp who pioneered the field of corporate ethics in Flanders and who co-founded UCSIA.

The chair was inaugurated on 4 May 2006. Prof. Bea Cantillon, Vice-Rector of the University of Antwerp, welcomed the numerous guests and underlined the significance of the Chair. Prof. Luc Van Liedekerke, the promoter of the chair, spoke about the pioneering work of Jef Van Gerwen.

The Chair was held by:

Gaël Giraud sj (2018-2019)

Gaël Giraud is a French economist, specialized in general equilibrium theory, game theory, finance and energy issues. He is chief economist at the Agence Française de Développement, affiliated with University of Paris 1-Sorbonne Economic Centre (CES) and associated researcher at the Paris School of Economics (PSE). He is also member of the Scientific Committee of the “Laboratoire d’Excellence” devoted to financial regulation (LabEx ReFi) and member of the Steering Committee on the Energy Shift within the French government.

He has published fifteen research articles in Anglo-saxon academic reviews in economy, and four books including La théorie des jeux (Garnier-Flammarion, 2005), 20 propositions pour réformer le capitalisme (Édition Garnier-Flammarion, 2009), Le facteur 12, pourquoi il faut plafonner les revenus, with Cécile Renouard (Carnets Nord, Paris, March 2012) and Illusion financière (Les Éditions de l’Atelier, March 2013). Gaël Giraud is a Jesuit, living a spiritual and intellectual life dedicated to social justice.

Antoon Vandevelde (2017-2018)
Tomáš Sedláček (2017-2018)
Patricia Werhane & Geert Demuijnck (2013-2014)
Luk Bouckaert (2012- 2013)<br />
Ryan Patrick Hanley (2011-2012)
Thomas Maak & Nicola Pless (2010-2011)
Johan Verstraeten (2009-2010)
Johan Graafland (2008-2009)
Kenneth Goodpaster (2007-2008)
George Frynas (2007-2008)
Dirk Matten (2005-2006)


Prinsstraat 14
B-2000 Antwerpen
Tel. +32 (0)3 265 49 60
Fax +32 (0)3 707 09 31